Published work, thoughts, rants and scribbles from George Seaton, a writer of sorts…

I actually have a fan!

All the way from Courtenay, BC (Old Wolf Lake in the background), I received a very kind note on my “About” page from a fan, Robert, who later provided a few pics showing him reading my novel, “Big Diehl – The Road Home.” Very, very nice gesture. My first fan! Or, at least, my first piece of fan mail. A satisfying thing…for any writer’s ego. Irrefutable visual evidence that at least someone–besides my partner–is reading what I’ve written.

Thank you, Robert.

4 responses

  1. Stephanie Gomez

    Oh, George, you have more than one fan! When I read your book, Big Diehl, I totally fell in love with it. I loved it so much that I ordered another two copies as gifts! I’m in the process of reading Circle of Magic right now and have ordered some more of your anthologies from amazon; am waiting patiently for them to come. I even wrote my very first review on amazon’s site for Big Diehl. I compared you to some of my favorite authors, Jay Quinn, Bart Yates, William Mann. I think you’re absolutely wonderful!

    January 17, 2011 at 9:47 pm

  2. georgeindenver

    When I read your comment, Stephanie, I thought of a passage in a WIP, tentatively titled, “Tucker Beene.” Beene, as a kid, like Diehl, worked his daddy’s ranch, loved his horses–Flapjack and Lucille. Each morning before school, he’d muck the stalls, feed and love on the horses. He’d lean in close to them, and repeat a little prayer of sorts: “Then he’d whisper to them, repeating what his mama had said to him when he was put to bed as a child: ‘You make the sun shine and the flowers bloom, the rain sweet and the world complete.’”

    You made my world complete with your comment, Stephanie. Thank you. I’ll be sending you an email.

    George

    January 18, 2011 at 2:24 pm

  3. Michael Smith

    Dear George, Upon the urging of my mate, Lou; I have read and enjoyed reading “The Road Home”. It is one of the finest books. Not only because of the tale itself, but due to the lovely way you phrase events and thoughts. It’s as if the story is told sidelong. As if it approaches from the corner of your’ eye; glances off a shoulder , and moves on leaving something behind. Perhaps I am not expressing this thought well, but imagine when you gaze at the moon at night. One looks at the moon, and sees the reflection of the sun. Is oblique the word? Anyhow I am looking forward to reading more of your stories. Sincerely, Michael Smith P.S. Thanks for making your’ protagonist 5 foot 8. It is similar to my height,and I appreciate that. So often in stories, particularly with gay characters, the heroes are possessed of superior vertical height, along with “seismic accoutrements”.

    December 17, 2011 at 12:51 am

    • Thank you, Michael. And thank you, Lou!

      A good word, “sidelong.” Suspect without too much literary surgery, sidelong will do just fine.

      Will admit I’ve always been enamored of the shorter of us…with or without “…seismic accoutrements.”

      George

      December 21, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers